For the latest COVID-19 health guidance, statistics and resources, visit:

Connect with us


Translate the Site

You are here

Home » The Commission

The Commission

We are an accredited, limited-jurisdiction law enforcement agency and the only statewide agency devoted to gambling licensing, regulation and enforcement.

Through collaboration with local, state, federal, tribal and international law enforcement agencies, we work to fulfill our legislative declaration of: (1) Keeping the criminal element out of gambling, and (2) Promoting social welfare through strict regulation and control.

The Commission is composed of five commissioners appointed by the Governor to six-year terms. The Commission holds regular public meetings, makes policy and budget decisions and takes action on administrative matters. Four members of the Legislature serve as ex-officio members and vote to approve or amend tribal-state Class III gaming compacts. They play an important liaison role between the commission and the Legislature.