Washington State Gambling Commission
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 42400, Olympia, WA 98504-2400
Headquarters: 4565 7" Avenue SE, Lacey, WA 98503

(360) 486-3440 & (800) 345-2529
FAX (360) 486-3631

Website: www.wsgc.wa.gov & Twitter: WAGambling & E-mail: AskUs@wsgc.wa.gov

Licensed Gambling Operators

Commercial and Charitable/Nonprofit

Applicants for a gambling license undergo criminal and
financial background investigations to help ensure only
qualified persons operate gambling activities. If the city or
county where you want to open your gambling business
allows gambling and you qualify for a license, it typically
takes about 60-90 days for us to complete the background
investigations.

You just received your license, what should you do?

e Check the information on your license to see if it is
correct. If it's not, contact us immediately.

e Post your license(s) where gambling will be operated.

o Keep copies of your employees’ gambling licenses at
your licensed business.

o Notify your local police or sheriff, in writing, after you
receive your license(s) and before you begin
operating gambling activities (WAC 230-06-055).

e Contact your local taxing authority (city or
county), the Washington State Department of
Revenue and the Internal Revenue Service to
determine any tax obligations.

Gambling rules and laws
¢ You must follow all gambling laws (RCW 9.46) and
rules (WAC 230), which are posted on our website.
¢ If you need an explanation of requirements, contact
your local gambling agent.
e If you don’t follow rules or laws, your gambling license
may be suspended or revoked.

Keep up-to-date on news and rule changes

e Focus on Gambling: This is our general licensee
newsletter. It's distributed four times a year to
licensed operators and posted on our website under:

Publications/Focus on Gambling.

e Card Room Connection: This newsletter is distributed
twice a year to card rooms, which are asked to make
it available to their employees. It's specific to card
rooms and posted on our website under:

Publications/Card Room Connection.

e The Gambling Commissioners typically hold public
meetings once a month to approve new licenses,
discuss rule changes, license revocations, and other
business. Meeting agendas are posted on our
website about 10 days before each meeting:

www.wsgc.wa.gov/meetings

e Call us or sign-up on our website to have newsletters
and Commission meeting agendas e-mailed to you:

www.wsgc.wa.gov/email_signup

e Follow us on Twitter: WAGambling
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Changes in ownership
Gambling licenses cannot be sold or transferred
(WAC 230-06-106 through WAC 230-06-108)

¢ You cannot sell or transfer your license to anyone.

e No one can operate under your license, even
temporarily. You may accomplish a sale so there isn’t
a break in gambling activity through a “contingency”
sale contract, where the sale is contingent on new
owners getting a gambling license.

o If any of the following occur without our approval, your
license is void and you must immediately stop all
gambling activities. Operating without a valid license is
a felony.

o The business is sold.

o A sole proprietorship brings in a new person and
forms a partnership, Limited Liability Company
(LLC), or corporation.

o A partnership takes another partner or changes
partners.

o A corporation or LLC sells over 50% of its stock or
membership shares to a person or business, which
has not held at least 10% previously.

Renewing your license

e |t is your responsibility to make sure you have a
current license posted at your business at all times.

¢ You must have your properly completed renewal
application and fees to us at least 15 days before your
license expires. The 15 days gives us time to process
your renewal application and for you to receive a new
license in the mail.

o If your license expires before you receive a new one,
you must not operate any gambling activities until you
have a valid license.

Gambling activity reports

Licensees must complete and return activity reports to

us, even if you don’t operate gambling. Report your

gambling activities to us as follows:

e Four times a year: Bingo Class D and above, along
with your nonprofit punch boards/pull-tabs, if any.

e Twice a year: Card rooms; manufacturers;
distributors; commercial punch boards/pull-tabs; and
nonprofit punch boards/pull-tabs, if you don’t operate
bingo Class D and above.

e Once a year: Amusement games; raffles; and bingo
Class A, B and C.

e Within 30 days of the event: Fund-raising events;
and agricultural fairs.
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Other reporting requirements

Report in advance

e You must receive approval from us before you move
your business to a new location (WAC 230-06-100).

¢ Change of days or times of bingo operations (WAC

230-10-100).

Report at least 30 days before the change
Change of business name (WAC 230-06-095).

Report at least 10 days before the change

e Change of time, date, or location of a fund-raising
event. If you cancel a fund-raising event, the ten-day
rule does not apply. However, you must notify us in
advance of the scheduled date (WAC 230-09-007).

Report immediately

e Change of license Class (WAC 230-06-130, 230-06-135).

e Changes due to death, incapacity, receivership,
bankruptcy, or assignment for the benefit of creditors.

¢ Charitable and nonprofit organizations when a
licensed or unlicensed gambling manager begins or
ends their employment (WAC 230-07-120).

e Card room operators (except Class B or D) when a
licensed card room employee begins or ends
employment. Contact us for detalils.

Report within 30 days

Changes made in your business structure (WAC 230-06-

106 through WAC 230-06-108). You may need to submit

a new application. Unlike other licenses you may have

(such as a liquor license) a gambling license is void if a

new person or business entity purchases over 50% of

your corporation or LLC.

o Commercial businesses with a change of 10% or more
in corporate stock ownership. However, for publicly
traded corporations, the reporting threshold is 5%.

o LLC when a change in membership involves a new
person, organization, or managing member.

o Change in business classification when all owners
remain the same. For example, classification changes
from sole proprietorship to an LLC (WAC 230-06-106).

e Commercial licensees: Change in directors, officers, or
general managers (Form GC4-011) (WAC 230-06-105).

¢ All criminal actions filed against the licensee or the
licensee's president, CEO, Chair of the Board,
treasurer, partner, substantial interest holder, gambling
manager or LLC member (WAC 230-06-085).

e Administrative and civil actions filed by or against the
licensee or the licensee's president, CEO, Chair of the
Board, treasurer, partner, substantial interest holder,
or gambling manager that involve ownership or control
of the business, dissolutions, actions significantly
affecting business interests, and all administrative
actions from other gambling regulatory agencies,
including those from other states, countries and Indian
tribes (WAC 230-06-090).

e Submit a complete copy of the final disposition of all
criminal, civil and administrative cases, including
settlement agreements.
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Report within 30 days

Submit updated documents/information that affect your

business, including but not limited to:

e Articles of incorporation and bylaws.

e Leases, rental, consignment, franchise, or other
agreements to include contracts or agreements between
card game operators and manufacturers.

¢ All loans in excess of $10,000, except when the loan is
from a bank or credit union.

Report when renewing your license
¢ Nonprofit licensees: Change in directors, officers, or
general managers. (Form GC4-011) (WAC 230-06-105).

Some general rules

e Operate all licensed gambling activities within the limits
and scope of your assigned license class.

e Your licenses and permits must be available for
inspection by us, law enforcement, and the public at all
times (WAC 230-06-065).

¢ Do not extend credit, loans, or gifts, except as allowed in
(WAC 230-06-035).

¢ Do not let persons under 18 years of age gamble, except
as allowed in (WAC 230-06-010).

¢ Do not let intoxicated persons operate or play any
gambling activity (WAC 230-06-015).

¢ Do not give beer or liquor as prizes for gambling, except
as allowed in (WAC 230-06-020).

¢ Do not give firearms as prizes for gambling, except as
allowed in (WAC 230-06-025).

¢ Post problem gambling information signs at each
entrance and exit. Signs are available from us.

¢ Licensed card room employees must wear |.D. tags.

e Maintain required gambling records.
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Find out what types of licenses are
available and who can apply for
them in our Gambling License
Certification Program Brochure.

To learn more about us, read our
Agency Overview Brochure.

Gambling laws RCW 9.46
Gambling rules WAC 230
Licensing fees WAC 230-05
Applications for a license

For questions about:

¢ Licensing and to get copies of forms and applications,
use the contact information on the front page.

e Operating gambling activities, contact our Field Office
closest to you.
Everett...... (425) 304-6300..... EverettFO@wsdc.wa.gov
Spokane... (509) 325-7900.. SpokaneFO@wsgc.wa.gov
Tacoma .... (253) 671-6280....TacomaFO@wsdc.wa.gov

i To inquire about the availability of this :

i document in an alternate format, i
please call (360) 486-3466

i or (800) 345-2529, ext. 3466.

i Teletype (TTY) users please call (360) :

486-3637

If you or someone you know
have a gambling problem,

call (800) 547-6133
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